Travel Warning Country Petition Form

UGA does not operate faculty-led study abroad programs, reciprocal exchanges, independent research, nor internship programs in countries under a Travel Warning issued by the U.S. Department of State. Generally, independent study, research, or internships for UGA resident credit in Travel Warning countries is not permitted for undergraduates. Petitions by graduate students or by faculty sponsors (for undergraduate students) may be made to the Study Abroad Risk Advisory Committee for an exception as above; however, as the Risk Advisory Committee recognizes that students are traveling independently and unaccompanied represents a further increase in risk, exceptions for student travel to Travel Warning locations cannot be guaranteed.
The Study Abroad Risk Advisory Committee cannot sanction UGA direct credit-bearing international activities for undergraduate students in Travel Warning locations.
The full policy regarding travel to Travel Warning countries can be found here:
The current list of travel warning countries can be found on the U.S. Department of State website.
If you have questions, please contact the Office of International Education at
Are you the petitioning student or are you petitioning on behalf of the student(s)? *
Are you petitioning for an individual student or a group of students? *
What is the student's academic level? * 
Completion of the following steps is required by UGA to approve student travel. Please indicate which of these items have already been completed by the student(s) at the time of petition, if known: *